Moving to Ireland!

Never mind why, but we are moving to Ireland this week!

I’ve always wanted to live in Ireland. My grandparents immigrated to Boston from Kerry in the 1920s, and my dad looked up his relatives in Ireland in the 1960s. We went as a family in the early 80s and then again in the later 80s. I was smitten. The people, their accents, the history, the landscape, the old-fashioned ways (which are long gone for the most part).

Slava and I have visited several times, and he was on board with moving there. We went in December to find out what winter is like there. It’s pretty mild, which is something I won’t like – I love snow and don’t mind cold weather. But the summer is mild. We are really hating the hot weather this summer! We won’t have to worry about that there. The house we’re buying is close to the ocean, something we miss here in Western Mass.

Leave a comment